Winner, Winner 3 Chicken Dinners

My back yard chickens must have gotten a little nervous about how much chicken I cooked this week because I have retrieved 4 eggs in 4 days out of their coop this week! I can’t wait until I’m getting 2-3 a day because I struggle buying store eggs anymore (notice my new cookbook holder behind my hand-thanks for the Cracker Barrel gift card for Christmas sister!).

solo-egg

This week was chicken heavy on the menu but I was able to prep a ton on Sunday to help me out. I’m still on a mission to test out my new gadgets and I’m really enjoying them!

Copper Pan vs. Air Fryer Buffalo Chicken

I didn’t want huge breasts so I sliced them in half to create 6. Don’t mind the naked breast, I needed just a little more for my chicken alfredo bake for the next night. 

My first step was to coat the chicken in my favorite seasoning Lawry’s Seasoned Crispy Oven Bake in Buffalo Chicken. In the copper pan, I cooked them in a preheated 400° oven for 20-25 minutes. I’m still working out the kinks of the air fryer. I should have only cooked them for 15 minutes but I used the preset for chicken which was 20 minutes. 

The result: Air Fryer for the win! Even though it was a touch darker than I’d like, the buffalo flavor was intense and incredible! It was crispy on the outside and not dry at all on the inside! The Copper Pan chicken was awesome and juicy but just lacked the crunch factor.

Quick Chicken Enchiladas

chicken-enchiladas

I was in a hurry and forgot to take pictures of the steps but it’s pretty easy! 

I preheated my oven to 350° and took my pre-shredded bag of 3 chicken breasts from Sunday out of the fridge. 

food-prep-shredded-chicken

Shredded Chicken

In a large bowl, mix chicken, 16 oz. sour cream and garlic powder to taste (about 2 tablespoons if chicken is boiled. When using rotisserie, I drop it to 1 tablespoon). 

Once my chicken mixture is ready, I begin layering. Pour half of a large can of green enchilada sauce on the bottom of the pan. Then, lay 8 corn tortillas on the enchilada sauce. Spoon chicken mixture on the tortillas and spread evenly (I typically get my hands dirty here and hand move pieces to make sure it’s even). At this point, I sprinkle cheese, usually whatever I have on hand and that day it was Monterrey jack. I don’t cover it completely, just a few handfuls. Layer 8 corn tortillas, the rest of the green enchilada sauce and then cover with a cheddar cheese. I had medium cheddar handy and used about a cup and a half.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, let rest for 10 minutes and enjoy!

Chicken Alfredo Bake

One day I will remember to write down the ingredients and how much I use but typically I eyeball everything and hope for the best!

I finally found a kitchen tool I don’t have! A garlic press. How do I not have a garlic press??

It is my habit to prep everything first so that things are just ready to plop into the pan. I diced 3 garlic cloves, 2 small precooked chicken breasts (I planned ahead and had part of a large breast from my lunch prep and one small from Monday night) and 1/4 cup chopped parsley. I also boiled a box of ziti from the pantry but any pasta will work. 

I was loosely following a recipe for alfredo sauce but I wanted it to be a little thicker so that it would be more like a casserole.

In my lovely copper pan, I melted a stick of butter, tossed in the garlic (I think I got excited because this can be done after the roux is complete) and added 1/3 cup of flour. After two minutes on medium heat- yes, it was browning and bubbly, I added the heavy cream I had left over from something else, about 1 1/4 cup. The original recipe called for 2 cups cream so I topped off with 2% milk.  I make a habit of using what is in my refrigerator and not what the recipe calls for. Reduce the temp to low-medium and bring it to a light simmer, which takes a bit, close to 10 minutes. I felt is was a little too thick and added a bit more milk and got it where I wanted.alfredo-base

Once it came to a simmer, I added 1 1/4 cup of shredded Parmesan until it was melted. Once sauce was smooth, I mixed all ingredients (sauce, ziti, parsley and chicken) in the pan and covered with 1 – 1 1/2 cups mozzarella.

alfredo-bake

Place the pan into a preheated 350° oven for 25 minutes, let rest and serve. This is packed with flavor! While it rested, I popped in a can of Pillsbury crescent spirals. Yum!

The clean up what what amazed me the most! This was a very sticky dish with the thick alfredo and mozzarella. The pan came out nearly clean after putting everything away!

copper-pan-cleanup

The last two times I’ve gone grocery shopping, I’ve overheard a woman arguing with her husband that the recipe calls for “Uncle Ben’s Brown Rice” or “Honey Maid Graham Crackers.” The husband questioned both times if it had to be exactly that. I had to chuckle both times because A. That’s why I shop alone B. I buy what tastes better or is a better bargain  and C. If I have a substitute in my pantry I’ll use it (generic vs. name brand or similar product).

I’ve been working on my pantry (yes, it still has a ways to go) but I’m trying to organize it so that I’ll cycle through it better. I don’t like to have food in there “just in case.” I even picked up some cute new baskets to match the copper pans I will eventually hang in there!

pantry

 

 

Leave a comment